Junior Certificate Grade

The Junior Certificate grade is the lowest WSU Intercollegiate debating grade. Teams must only comprise third and fourth form students (years 9 and 10). It is designed for those new to debating, in comparison to the Junior Premier grade (for more experienced junior students).

Schools may enter up to three teams in the Junior Certificate grade.

The grade consists of five in-rounds and breaks to octo-finals, followed by quarter-finals, semi-finals and finals.

Speakers in this grade speak for 4-6 minutes and replies are 2-3 minutes.

The convener for 2020 is Lily Stelling (lilystelling1@gmail.com).

The winning school receives the Wellington Speaking Union Cup, first awarded in 1992.

Wellington Speaking Union Cup Junior Certificate Grade Winners



2017: Sacred Heart College
2016: Kapiti College
2015: Queen Margaret College
2014: Queen Margaret College
2013: Samuel Marsden Collegiate
2012: Wellington High School
2011: Kapiti College
2010: Paraparaumu College
2009: Sacred Heart College
2008: Wellington East Girls’ College
2007: Paraparaumu College
2006: Tawa College
2005: Tawa College
2004: Onslow College
2003: Onslow College
2002: Wellington College
2001: Wellington College
2000: Hutt International Boys’ School
1999: St Mary’s College
1998: St Mary’s College
1997: Wellington Girls’ College
1996: Wellington College
1995: Chilton St James School
1994: Chilton St James School
1993: Wellington Girls’ College
1992: Raphael House


Past Convenors

The Junior Cert grade has been convened by the following people over the years:



2018: Simone Chivers
2017: Simone Chivers
2016: Nicola McFaull
2015: Nicola McFaull
2014: Nicola McFaull
2013: Helen Scott
2012: Olivia Hall
2011: Nicola Wood
2010: David Dewar
2009: David Dewar